top of page
Search
jamescgonzales

Entry #1 My First Step to Image Processing

Updated: Feb 1, 2021

In my journey as a data scientist student , I was given an opportunity to sit-in to one of the elective subject - Introduction to Image Processing or IIP.


I am reluctant to take the class because of my color deficient vision. I am Deutan or I have deuteranomaly, where I see more red than green colors. This condition is widely known as "color blindness". I assumed that this would be big handicap for me to take the Image Processing Subject. However while listening to the first session of the class, I already learned a lot, and my interest carried me to sign-in to the subject.



 

What is Image Processing?

Image processing is a method of analyzing, transforming and enhancing images to gain information for a context to be solved. Generally it is aided with computers to be able to

process images under analysis.


Computer vision is the field of computer science that focuses on the techniques to process and analyze input video and image data. It is said Deep Learning Neural which consists of Artificial Network Network mimics the human brain in solving problems, Computer Vision on the other hand is parallelized to the human visual system.


Applications of IP and CV

  1. Visualization - What can we see?

  2. Enhancement- How can we fix what we see?

  3. Extractions - What can we get from what we see?

  4. Recognition - What is that we see?


Image Processing Techniques

  1. Fourier Transform, Frequency Domain (Enhancement)

  2. White balancing (Enhancement)

  3. Histogram Manipulation (Enhancement)

  4. Image Segmentation (Extraction)

  5. Blob detection (Extraction)

  6. Object Classification (Extraction)

  7. Template Matching (Recognition)


 

Some use cases our group can think of:



31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page